Gransnet forums

House and home

british gas or corgi homecare for boiler

(38 Posts)
suey Fri 03-Feb-17 13:07:40

Has anyone any views on whether I should change from British Gas to Corgi for my boiler maintenance etc please. Corgi is half the price but I don't know if it is as good as it claims.

Charleygirl Fri 03-Feb-17 13:35:44

I get an independent fellow to service mine annually etc.So much cheaper.

ninathenana Fri 03-Feb-17 14:23:38

We use a local guy too.

Linsco56 Fri 03-Feb-17 14:53:57

We have an annual maintenance contract with British Gas which costs £25 per month. This covers the annual check of the boiler and radiators and the replacement of any faulty parts. It also covers full replacement of any radiators which can't be repaired but doesn't cover the cost of a replacement boiler.

I too will be interested to read replies from anyone who has used Corgi.

shysal Fri 03-Feb-17 15:04:53

I have no experience of Corgi, but am very pleased with British Gas. It is not always just about the cost. I would advise playing the 'Pensioner' card (if you are one) to get priority service. This is the thread I started just before Christmas 2015, which shows a few Gransnetters' views.
www.gransnet.com/forums//forums/house_and_home/1221907-In-Praise-of-British-Gas?msgid=25842509

chelseababy Fri 03-Feb-17 15:10:10

I be always been happy with British Gas.

Auntieflo Fri 03-Feb-17 15:43:01

We use the chap who installed our new boiler. He also came very quickly, when we had a leak from a pipe in the upstairs bathroom. Lovely, and can't fault him, but he is a chatterer smile

M0nica Fri 03-Feb-17 15:51:00

Corgi no longer exists and it was never a commercial company offering gas services but a form of registration that told you that the gas fitter you employed had reached an approved level of competence.