Gransnet forums

House and home

Why do they make it so hard?

(52 Posts)
LyndaW Thu 17-Aug-17 16:38:14

I'm really making a big effort to not use or buy so much plastic. We compost already and I do recycle but supermarkets seem intent on making me fail. The bottle you can recycle but the cap 'you should check with local recycling'. What does that mean? Do I phone my council and ask if a particular supermarket's mayonnaise lid is recyclable in my area? Surely not!

And why can you ask for 'no bags' when online shopping and then they deliver all the frozen stuff in plastic bags??

norose4 Thu 17-Aug-17 16:43:08

I take my hat off to you LyndaW, I am ashamed to say I am not very good at the recycling malarkey! I was once talking to a person who was working at a council run recycling centre, he told me that rubbish is not quite as recycled as many of us believe!

M0nica Thu 17-Aug-17 19:54:59

I just bung anything that might be recyclable into the recycling bin and leave the recycling unit to remove the non-recyclables. I know not to put black food trays in the bin because the machinery that does the sorting cannot see them as they are the same colour as the conveyor belt they put the material on to sort it

In France the supermarkets do not prepack fruit and veg to the extent that we do and all the plastic bags for putting your choice of fruit and veg into are now those plant based plastic sacks that you are expected to use in the UK for food recycling and they can be composted.

When I am in France I always tie loose knots in the bags when buying fruit and veg so that I can untie them carefully and re-use them as food recyling bags in the UK.

Jalima1108 Thu 17-Aug-17 20:16:44

I have noticed that some plastic bags disintegrate these days - I put something away in a drawer for DD stored in a plastic bag and when I checked on it the bag was in tiny pieces.