Gransnet forums

House and home

Hot water dispensers

(54 Posts)
H1954 Thu 29-Jul-21 06:20:01

Yesterday, our kettle stopped working, so we looked online line at the shop that sells electrical appliances and computers and listed amongst the usual array of kettles was a couple of hot water dispensers. Have any GNetters had any experience of hot water dispensers, would you recommend or advise to avoid? We have a spare kettle so therefore not in a hurry to buy anything straight away.

Whatdayisit Thu 29-Jul-21 06:33:04

I have been using one for over two years. We had it in the bedroom first for the early morning cuppa but have had it in the kitchen for a while.
I like quite a bit of milk in my coffee so i need a biggish cup as i think about 200ml gets dispensed.
Making instant gravy isn't as easy as using a kettle. And you may need a couple of shots for pans of veg and pasta which can be more of a fath than boiling a kettle.
But i do like it and not sure whether i would go back to a kettle.

Whatdayisit Thu 29-Jul-21 06:34:27

And you don't have to lift a heavy kettle of boiling water.

Franbern Thu 29-Jul-21 09:18:00

I have been using one of these for the past three years. On to my second one now. They are extremely useful and I am very much a fan. My first one (a present) was a cheap one. Main problem was that it just went on dispensing hot water until manually stopped. So, you can imagine how many times, I 'forgot' and then had to wipe up that output. So, when it died, I made sure that its replacement DOES have set amounts to dole out. So, have never had this overflow problem now.

So, I would think that is one important facet to look for. Also a good size water tank. My present one is four litres - only me here, yet I still need to fill it at the least twice a day. Mind you, I keep it close to the sink and a small jug which I use just for that purpose - so is not a deadful bind.