Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

Don't think there's a financial answer to this

(16 Posts)
HettyMaud Thu 03-Oct-19 23:08:13

DH and I have been refurbishing a property for 3 years which now looks great. We thoroughly enjoy doing this and have done it before. Our intention was always to cash it in, downsize and help DD who lives in a small rental property with her teenage son. But 6 months ago my elderly mother moved in with us as she was not coping in her own home. Mother has pulled round and looks set to live for many more years. She tells everyone she loves living here (and why not.. it's like a hotel for her!). DH says we'll move and take her with us but, realistically, that's almost impossible. In the meantime DD is living in her grotty rental with little room to move and nowhere for a desk for my GS or even a dining table. We've got some savings but not enough to buy another property without cashing in on ours. Feeling totally stuck. Don't think there's an answer to it.... any ideas?

BradfordLass72 Thu 03-Oct-19 23:32:55

Can you help your daughter find a nicer rental place?

That at least would give you some peace of mind until either your gs goes to university, or work.

I know nothing about capitalising on a mortgage but I'm sure others will. It may help her with a deposit on a small apartment.

Here in NZ, apartments are becoming the next big (good) thing to buy into, rather than free standing homes. They have less maintenance, less rates and so on but increase in value over time.

Chestnut Thu 03-Oct-19 23:47:52