Gransnet forums

Menopause

Progynova TS Estradiol 50 patches

(35 Posts)
Poshbec Sun 07-Jun-20 18:16:27

Does anyone have experience of using these? Have been on them for 4 weeks now, but stopped 2 days ago as body thermostat out of control (hot) & sleep really difficult as well as very tender breasts(have had to go up from a B to a C cup). Wondering if my underactive thyroid is affecting increased levels of Estradiol, &/or prediabetes blood levels(hereditary as 5’3 & fondly weigh 55kg). Also had Mirena coil fitted in February as part of HRT, but Symptoms not good since then. Any advice please?

Rosalyn69 Sun 07-Jun-20 18:28:10

I don’t know. I swear by Evorel Conti patches.

Poshbec Sun 07-Jun-20 19:08:16

Have tried these without success, unfortunately.

lovingit Sun 07-Jun-20 21:21:44

I've been using these for 4 years with no problems at all.

Esspee Mon 08-Jun-20 07:31:41

Please consult your doctor. People respond differently to medication and there is a whole range of transdermal preparations for you to try. When you find the right one it is truly life changing so persevere.

adnil1949 Mon 08-Jun-20 10:03:47

You do need to have your Thyroid tested. I used them for a few years, had a Thyroid function test every year. I did find I still got night sweats and had bad sleep. I stopped when they were hard to get.

Ermilou Mon 08-Jun-20 10:08:20

I’ve recently had to use evorel sequi (combined hormone ones) with estrogen from progynova TS 50. As the evorel estrogen only patches have been unavailable for 18 mths. (Been on hrt since dec 2017 on evorel sequi) I’ve had no issues with swapping the brand or combining two different ones but it but took a good 4 weeks for everything to settle. I agree with someone else...call the doctor or speak to your pharmacy otherwise you will continue to worry. Hope it all gets better soon.

Lupatria Mon 08-Jun-20 10:10:52

i started my hrt with patches but was allergic to them - i ended up with a ring of red rings around me!