Gransnet forums

News & politics

Election Complaint Update

(71 Posts)
Nonnie Tue 04-Jun-19 09:59:30

Some of you will remember that I posted about the person working in the polling station trying to influence my vote. I have this morning had a phone call from the Electoral Office who are taking it very seriously. Unfortunately some on here didn't.

rafichagran Tue 04-Jun-19 11:57:05

How can anyone influence your vote. All I would have said, curtly, Is I do not wish to discuss this further.

I have been a presiding officer at elections , and it it normally the voters who try to engage us in that type of conversation. We make no comment.

EllanVannin Tue 04-Jun-19 12:10:40

Is it under the " vote-fixing " that goes on Nonnie ?

Nonnie Tue 04-Jun-19 12:19:44

rafichagran that is why we were so appalled. All my adult life I have voted and this is the first time I have come across this.

Ellan no, because I haven't seen that thread. It was one of the political ones and I saw some quite unpleasant posts directed at me.

maddyone Tue 04-Jun-19 12:36:59

Unfortunately Nonnie, unpleasant posts, often personal, are rather more often being posted on Gransnet I’ve noticed. It’s a sad indictment of the times we live in I suppose. I don’t like it at all, especially from people of mature age. I hope you weren’t upset by them.

It’s good to hear that the Electoral Office are looking into your problem. I hope it will be resolved satisfactorily.

Nonnie Tue 04-Jun-19 12:43:15