Gransnet forums

Pedants' corner

‘There’s so many savings this week!’

(44 Posts)
Witzend Fri 24-Jun-22 11:03:05

Email from Boots this morning.

Is it just me, or does anyone else wince at ‘there is’ with a plural?

Germanshepherdsmum Fri 24-Jun-22 11:05:08

It’s not just you.

Grandmabatty Fri 24-Jun-22 11:18:10

Retired English teacher here. It drives me crazy.

Esspee Fri 24-Jun-22 11:46:13

Drives me crazy too. Just ignorance. (I hope nobody comes on this thread saying it’s dialect and we shouldn’t criticise because they’ll get short shrift from me.)

Bignanny2 Fri 24-Jun-22 11:54:02

It’s not dialect - I’m a Brummie, an accent which many hate, but i like to think that at least I speak the ‘queen’s English’. I hate was instead of were too ?

Witzend Fri 24-Jun-22 12:06:08

Bignanny2, I’m a former teacher of English as a foreign language and for quite a while had a colleague - senior to me - who insisted on saying ‘I were, it were…’ etc. and anyone who didn’t like it could just get stuffed - it was (were!) characteristic of her northern U.K. speech and therefore allowed.

Never mind the confusion it must have caused for her mostly Arabic-speaking students, who’d be penalised for getting it wrong in their exams.

MaizieD Sat 25-Jun-22 09:11:03

Esspee

Drives me crazy too. Just ignorance. (I hope nobody comes on this thread saying it’s dialect and we shouldn’t criticise because they’ll get short shrift from me.)

Drives me mad, too. Especially when I catch myself doing it...

MaizieD Sat 25-Jun-22 09:12:59

Sorry, quoted post shouldn't be there. I started replying to it, changed my mind and forgot to delete it.

MissAdventure Sat 25-Jun-22 10:03:29

I would have thought that 'is' might be acceptable.
The situation (singular) is that there are lots (plural) of bargains.
Not that I know much about all "the rules".

Yammy Sat 25-Jun-22 10:30:13

How about wait "while' instead of wait "until" used all the time where I used to live and I am not hot on grammar.hmm