Gransnet forums

Pets

Aged cats

(64 Posts)
Grannytwoshoes Wed 15-Aug-12 08:48:53

Good morning, I am new to the class so bear with me if I make a few mistakes! Have already lost one message...so here goes for the second time.
I have three Burmese cats of advancing years in good health....Ihope....why do they howl so much? It's not just the Oriental pedigree. It's. It's getting worse and doesn't help that Iamnot meant to have a cat! Also why do they drink from the bath tap when they have a full bowl of water?!

susiecb Wed 15-Aug-12 08:51:16

I'd like to know why the cats round here all use my garden as a toilet instead of their own.

Lilygran Wed 15-Aug-12 09:15:29

Hi, Grannytwoshoes! I'd say, 'welcome to Gransnet' but I'm quite new myself & it seems a bit presumptuous. I think you'd probably need to get a vet's opinion on the howling if it has started recently. One of my cats learned howling from the Oriental cross who had always howled but the other two started howling as they got old. They were all very vocal and I always thought that was because it's a very vocal household. I thought the howling was comparable to old ladies/gents muttering to themselves as they still appeared to be in good health. Good luck. smile

GoldenGran Wed 15-Aug-12 09:30:58

I have no answer grannytwoshoes but welcome to Gransnet, there are no such things as mistakes around here,everything is ok. Why are you not meant to have a cat?confused

tanith Wed 15-Aug-12 09:32:50

Welcome to Gransnet Grannytwoshoes, I had elderly cats sadly all gone now, but my vet told me a variety of reasons why mine were 'very vocal' in old age, could be deafness, senility and thyroid related problems, one had hyperthyroidism and she drove me bonkers with yowling in the middle of the night. But bless them all I loved them to bits and the last two beautiful kitties lived to 21 and 20 so reached a ripe old age.. I never found a solution to the problem we had to learn to live with it..