Gransnet forums

Pets

Aged cats

(65 Posts)
Grannytwoshoes Wed 15-Aug-12 08:48:53

Good morning, I am new to the class so bear with me if I make a few mistakes! Have already lost one message...so here goes for the second time.
I have three Burmese cats of advancing years in good health....Ihope....why do they howl so much? It's not just the Oriental pedigree. It's. It's getting worse and doesn't help that Iamnot meant to have a cat! Also why do they drink from the bath tap when they have a full bowl of water?!

Kali Sat 19-Jan-13 22:14:07

I know how much your cats mean to you absent and I'm so sorry for your loss.

Deedaa Sat 19-Jan-13 22:03:43

absent I am so sorry about your cats, what a horrible Christmas! What a wonderful age though. Our 16 year old is still thriving on his thyroid pills and the 14 year old seems fit enough. The other two are much younger. It is so hard to see them go and they do leave such a hole.

annodomini Fri 18-Jan-13 18:09:15

absent, I am so sad for you. It's 15 years since I had to do the same for my two, within a month or so. It's the price we pay for the love and companionship of our pets. It still hurts to think about mine and yours will always be there in your heart too.

absent Fri 18-Jan-13 17:40:16

Ariadne The fonts were all born in my office and as I write books I named them all after fonts. Dingbat was first and never was a cat so appropriately named, Helvetica Semi-bold, who never quite grew into his paws and always looked guilty, was next, then came Bodoni, a serif cat with a curvaceous tail, and finally small but feisty Frutiger Light Condensed made her appearance. They remaining three will be 16 in February.

nightowl Fri 18-Jan-13 17:24:43

I'm so sorry to hear about Fishpaste and Helvetica absent. It must have been so difficult watching poor Fishpaste looking so poorly right through Christmas as well. What a comfort for them both to have you with them at the end.