Gransnet forums

Relationships

I am petrified

(159 Posts)
Rolande Thu 22-Feb-18 12:10:34

My husband passed away over a year ago. I had been caring for him for seven years. He had a rare form of cancer.
Few weeks ago, on Gransnet I saw a post about online dating. After talking with DD and DIL, I thought, OK, lets try.
To cut a long story short, I have been chatting with some one that seems really nice and we are meeting this week end.
I am simply petrified! Not of being murdered grin, but DATING... What have I let myself in to!!
So Gransnet friends, advice.
We're meeting in a pub for lunch. What do I wear? Do we shake hands when we meet? What if I don't like him? What if his table manners are awful? Is that important or not? I'm like a cat on a hot tin roof! Help!!

MawBroon Thu 22-Feb-18 12:17:28

Well good luck.
Do make sure you take all the necessary safety precautions. A prearranged phone call from a friend in the course of the meeting is a recognised way of getting out of a tricky (or frankly boring) situation.
Meeting over a meal is probably a very good way of forming an initial impression. He may be as terrified as you OR he may be a dead loss (older, false teeth, toupee, lecherous, thoroughly boring) or just nice but dim.
Don’t give away too much information about yourself or your family and (dare I say it) don’t expect too much.
But do let us know how it goes!

Christinefrance Thu 22-Feb-18 12:18:46

Relax a little Rolande I know its a big step for you but it is just one date. Wear something smart casual which you are comfortable in. He is lucky to be meeting you so enjoy the evening, if there is anything about him you don't like no second date. Be safe, tell someone where you are going and arrange to call them when you get home. Don't accept a lift ensure you have transport available. Enjoy.

JackyB Thu 22-Feb-18 12:23:51