Gransnet forums

Relationships

Worried about my grandaughter

(36 Posts)
Tillywilly Sat 24-Nov-18 09:06:17

Hi. I'm new to this and looking for some advise. I have a beautiful granddaughter who is 2 1/2. But have a terrible relationship with her mother ( my daughter). I worry she's not looking after my grandaughter properly. I have phoned social services in the past but nothing was done. She lives in terrible conditions. I've tried going round to help her clean. Give her money. Bought her furniture. Decorated. She rarely says thankyou. I'm at the end of my tether. A couple of weeks ago she got abussive so I walked away. I pick up my grandaughter from nursery once a week for her still because of work and I want to see her but that's all I'm doing now. I'm so worried for my grandaughter but what do ?

DoraMarr Sat 24-Nov-18 09:59:43

If you are worried that your granddaughter is in danger you need to go back to social services with specific incidents to report. Perhaps your daughter needs family support if she is not coping with a job and looking after her daughter. Have nursery staff indicated any concerns? Perhaps you could offer to have your granddaughter overnight once a week to give your daughter a break. It is a shame that you have a bad relationship with your daughter, but on the plus side she trusts you to pick her up, so your relationship has not entirely broken down. She may, however, find your help intrusive, and may accept help better from a third party. Is there a relative who could visit her?

Tillywilly Sat 24-Nov-18 12:12:37