Gransnet forums

Relationships

Christmas, feeling a bit sad

(127 Posts)
DillytheGardener Wed 23-Oct-19 23:46:52

My eldest son and his wife have decided this year they won’t be coming to our family Christmas but will be having a mini holiday on their own.

Their reasoning is they very very rarely take holidays, ( usually just one holiday of 5 days once a year in my sisters caravan ) and they are burnt out and in both their jobs/free lance work it’s the only time they can take off.

Myself and my husband and my other son and his partner all take multiple holidays so understand they don’t get much in terms of relaxation.

It’s my turn to host this year, and I’m so sad they won’t be there and trying very hard not to be upset. Especially as I’m a hopeless cook and my son normally does all the family events catering as he enjoys cooking. It’s harder knowing they will be moving abroad soon too.

My son pointed out his wife comes to all our family events and hasn’t been able to travel home for the last 3 years for Christmas due to the costs and it’s not that fun for her every year to spend it with someone else’s family and it makes her feel homesick. We are quite loud, she is quite quiet and finds it a bit much I think.

Should I just leave it or try gently encourage them to come as his grandmother especially will be upset.

What do you think ladies? I’m feeling now like I probably should have made more effort to include some things from her home country but probably a bit late now, no?

MissAdventure Wed 23-Oct-19 23:52:19

I would let it go, and be glad they're doing something they both want to do this year.

Buffybee Wed 23-Oct-19 23:59:12

Our family all swop around every year so it wouldn’t worry me at all.
If it’s the only time your son and wife can get away together, apart from 5 days in a caravan, I’d be happy for them.
Everyone should do what they want to do.

Hithere Thu 24-Oct-19 00:04:34