Gransnet forums

Religion/spirituality

If you want to ask a question

(271 Posts)
soontobe Sat 10-Jan-15 18:32:19

A thread if you want to ask me a question about christianity. Mine, or in general.

I am getting asked questions about my christianity across different threads.

So if you want to ask me a question, ask here.

If no one does, fine. Great.
But if you do in future, I suspect that gransnet would like it dealt with here rather than questions popping up on other peoples' threads, for the forseeable.
Thanks.

GillT57 Sat 10-Jan-15 18:45:05

Since when have you been an expert? Since when has Gransnet decided that you are the oracle on all matters regarding Christianity. That's two questions for you to start.

FarNorth Sat 10-Jan-15 18:50:16

I guess, if you are being asked on other threads, it's because of views you have expressed there.
As I haven't seen those views, I don't have any questions for you on this thread.

soontobe Sat 10-Jan-15 18:55:57

I am not an expert on anything.
I am not an oracle on anything.

vampirequeen Sat 10-Jan-15 20:15:19

I don't think soontobe meant she was an expert. She tried to answer my questions about Christianity on another thread based on her beliefs. I'm sure she's aware that other Christian denominations might interpret the Bible differently or have different traditions.

GillT57 Sat 10-Jan-15 20:19:28

Didn't mean to be as rude as it came across, just feeling a bit touchy and seriously disillusioned with all religion in view of the atrocities committed in recent days and weeks.

rosequartz Sat 10-Jan-15 20:36:01

What denomination are you, soontobe?

And if people are religious, many worship the same God so why are there so many different interpretations of that God?

And how will we ever know - is it just something to make people feel that there is meaning to life other than we are then we die and are no more?

Is it just like an insurance policy?

soontobe Sat 10-Jan-15 20:45:18

vq - absolutely