Gransnet forums

Religion/spirituality

Have you ever been in this situation?

(83 Posts)
Smileless2012 Mon 11-May-15 14:57:33

There is a particularly difficult and painful family problem and you an another family member, who shares the same faith, pray about it but get different answers.

I have been praying about this for more than 3 years now and truly believe that the direction I have taken is the direction which God wants me to take. My son on the other hand has a completely different point of view and seeks to press home his arguments by quoting scripture.

How can we both be interpreting God's message correctly when we are at opposite ends of the spectrum? I would be so grateful for any input. My faith has helped sustain me through the most difficult and painful situation I've ever had to face and I cannot afford to begin to doubt what I've believed in for so long.

jinglbellsfrocks Mon 11-May-15 15:01:51

soontobe!!!

Seriously, I think you just have to keep praying. Tell God about it. And wait. Some might say a priest or minister might be able to help you. flowers

rosequartz Mon 11-May-15 15:01:54

Smileless2012
Have you spoken to your vicar or priest or minster about this problem?

Sometimes people can put different interpretations on things and sometimes it takes someone who is not emotionally involved to suggest a compromise or third way forward.

flowers

soontobe Mon 11-May-15 15:02:23

I will pm you.

rosequartz Mon 11-May-15 15:02:45

X posts with jingl

rosesarered Mon 11-May-15 15:14:39

how can anyone know the mind of God, or the direction that he wants you to go in.Stop worrying about this aspect, and simply put your faith in God .That is all that is needed, it's simple.flowers

rosesarered Mon 11-May-15 15:16:24

my above post is talking about prayer. if you need to do practical things, ie take some action, have a family meeting including your priest/minister.

soontobe Mon 11-May-15 15:27:36

A surprising number of ways actually.