Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

You and Yours, R4 (I think) about a week ago

(31 Posts)
Witzend Wed 13-Oct-21 09:13:40

Just wondering whether anyone else heard this one. There was a woman complaining (with reason) about the cost of living, including food - but she said that salad cream was a ‘ridiculous’ £5 a bottle!

I thought ‘Surely not!’ at the time, and did check next time I was in the local Asda - the biggest squeezy bottle of Heinz was £2.89!

Maybe there’s a gourmet version I’ve never encountered, but then bona fide gourmets are appalled at the mere idea of salad cream anyway, aren’t they?

Sago Wed 13-Oct-21 09:27:57

Salad cream, it’s a 1970’s throwback!

If you are hard up it’s not really an essential item.

Food is more expensive and I think there is worse to come, we should go back to teaching proper home economics in school.

When I worked in a school the pupils were making Baileys cheesecake and pizza.

The ingredients were never costed or assessed for nutritional value, fat, sugar etc.

Aldom Wed 13-Oct-21 09:28:31

I never buy /use salad cream so I can't comment. But I know a largish squeeze bottle of mayonnaise is still under £3 where I shop.

FannyCornforth Wed 13-Oct-21 09:31:32

Perhaps you misheard her, or perhaps she got mixed up.
Yesterday I said ‘potatoes’ when I was trying to refer to ‘sausages’ confused

Witzend Wed 13-Oct-21 09:37:40

I certainly didn’t mis-hear, FannyCornforth - dh also heard it, that’s why I wondering whether anyone else did.

trisher Wed 13-Oct-21 09:45:22

Maybe she shops at Harrods and they charge more for salad cream because only plebsuse it.

Aveline Wed 13-Oct-21 09:48:16

The family laugh at me but I love a smear of salad cream in a sandwich. I don't use much so a bottle lasts for ages. Certainly didn't cost £5 though.

Witzend Wed 13-Oct-21 09:53:28

? trisher.