Gransnet forums

Chat

Christmas !

(61 Posts)
Glamdram Mon 29-Aug-16 21:34:01

Hello
I'm new to all of this ...so here goes.

This year my OH and I are going away for chrstmas for few days...only a bit of a drive away,but to our favourite hotel that we both love.
We v never been away for Christmas ..in fact we v never been invited anywhere for chrstmas...I always seem to be doing Christmas here...but this year we are off.

Anyway daughter ,who lives in London has now asked if her and her boyfriend can come and stay in the house while we are away...she always comes home for Christmas and I had said that she could bring boyfriend here while we are away
Now she would like two other people to stay too ....I have refused as I'm thinking that I will have to set up beds...bedding etc and will have all the washing when I get back from our few days away.
I could tell she was bit miffed

Any thoughts out there ?

Ana Mon 29-Aug-16 21:38:32

Tell her they can all come if she sorts the beds out herself and also does the washing (of at least srips the beds and puts it in the machine) before she leaves.

She's a grown woman, let her take some responsibility.

Glamdram Mon 29-Aug-16 21:47:39

She's 24 ....lives in a rented house with two other students.
I wouldn't want to come back to all the washing ,even if it was in the machine!

Coolgran65 Mon 29-Aug-16 21:51:42

Would it work if you agreed to your dd bringing friends but that you take nothing to do with the arrangements. No sorting beds or bedding.

Your dd or the friends can bring a Z bed/sleep on sofa/ floor/ inflatable air bed/ whatever they wish. And the house left as they found it with any bedding washed (if not ironed), Or indeed being their own bedding I.e. sleeping bags. Also kitchen and bathroom left clean.

Friends who come to visit us at our summer holiday apartment are asked to bring their own bedding except for the duvet.

Glamdram Mon 29-Aug-16 22:04:00