Gransnet forums

Arts & crafts

Has anyone taken up something new?

(155 Posts)
mollie Sun 08-May-11 09:04:08

Now that I have a lot of time on my hands I want to try something new...after a working life using my brain I'd love to use my hands to be more creative but can't decide what or how to begin...I've signed up for courses locally but inevitably they are cancelled 'through lack of interest'...

Has anyone taken up a new interest - how did you start? Are you enjoying it?

tiggy Sun 08-May-11 09:11:34

Join a local art group, I started painting seven years ago and it has opened up a new world, meeting new friends and it's something you can learn, there's loads of information on the net, painting holidays etc.

mollie Sun 08-May-11 09:17:08

Glad to hear it's been a success, tiggy...what sort of painting? Watercolours or something more mucky?

bikergran Sun 08-May-11 09:28:24

Yes!! riding a motorbike lol not quite nightclass material but lol.smile

Joan Sun 08-May-11 09:56:32

Well, apart from food gardening, keeping chickens and getting a dog, I've joined a writers' group run by U3A.

This is so much fun - you'd be amazed at the talent of some of the people I have met there. I even got inspired to write a play - well, I'm part way through. Also the local U3A is putting on a Winter Expo in August and I'm in it. Never before have I done any of this stuff.

I'd like to get back to knitting and embroidering too, but never seem to get round to it. I do have to make myself a Victorian dress as I'm Gwendoline in an extract from The Importance of Being Earnest. So I'd better blow the dust off my sewing machine................

HildaW Sun 08-May-11 10:03:23

Yes U3As are a jolly good idea.they have a National Web site that can point you to local groups.

mollie Sun 08-May-11 10:43:59

Bikergran! I am inspired!!! Go girl!!!