Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Im a novice

(65 Posts)
MarySunshine Sat 02-Jul-16 18:04:17

Ive just signed up here to this site and stumbling my way about ... not very well, I might add! Just become a Nan to a beautiful boy and now need to feel like the Nan I have become by chatting and getting to know others on the same boat.. Its so exciting but all my 'non-nan' friends are sick of the photos coming out and my ramblings on about this wonderful little child just four weeks old..
Ive been reading through and trying to find a discussion to fit myself into but I dont get the abbreviations used on here and Ive never used a forum before

Any tips would be very welcome ..
Thanks (smile)

phoenix Sat 02-Jul-16 18:11:48

Welcome! There is a guide to the abbreviations/acronyms etc, I think it's somewhere down the bottom, but as I've been here since the world was black and white, I can't exactly remember blush

grannylyn65 Sat 02-Jul-16 18:14:06

Hi Sunshine and welcome, there is something for everyone here!
Congrats at becoming a gran. The abbreviations are explained by clicking on a link, but not on my phone !! Some people know everything and others, well, you'll see!! Have fun xx

grannylyn65 Sat 02-Jul-16 18:15:18

grin phoenix

Grannyknot Sat 02-Jul-16 18:20:40

Welcome, sunshine it doesn't take long to work out the abbreviations, just put "dear" in front of husband, partner, son, daughter, etc. Or, you can just ignore them like I do!

Congrats on becoming a grandmother.

tanith Sat 02-Jul-16 18:23:05

Hi Sunshine how exciting becoming a Gran is congratulations on your little one . Jump in any thread that interests you, you will mostly get a warm welcome everywhere.

Luckygirl Sat 02-Jul-16 18:23:27

Congratulations - just enjoy - you will love it. smile

Auntieflo Sat 02-Jul-16 18:27:47

Hi, at the top of the page, you will see a list from left to right, with [Active], [I'm on], [Watching] etc, etc. just click in the [Acronyms] box, and hey presto, all will be revealed