Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Recommendations food processor

(63 Posts)
Cnash Tue 08-Dec-20 10:11:47

I am looking for a processor that will chop and grind but also mix for pastry and cakes. I haven’t bought one for years so out of touch. Any recommendations from anyone who has bought one recently??

Marydoll Tue 08-Dec-20 10:46:12

I'm on my third Magimix. I absolutely love it! I'm only on the third one, as I damaged the spindle on my previous one, my own fault.

I have been using them for the last twenty years.

Mamissimo Tue 08-Dec-20 11:14:02

Magimix for me too - my DS inherited my DM's (well he asked if he could have it) and ten years on he's still using it regularly. They're not the cheapest but they do the job efficiently and reliably.

annodomini Tue 08-Dec-20 11:25:47

I also love my Magimix. It can do so much more than mixing. I can grate a kilo of Cheddar in half a minute, make bread with the big bowl and breadcrumbs with the small bowl.

Urmstongran Tue 08-Dec-20 11:32:17

Are Magimixes all the same? Or are some models better than others please?

Marydoll Tue 08-Dec-20 11:44:37

This the model I have. I'm unsure what the differences are. Expensive, but workhorses and long lasting.

Welshwife Tue 08-Dec-20 12:13:10

I have a Kenwood - very good and last well - does the mixing and grating etc.

Urmstongran Tue 08-Dec-20 12:24:34

Thank Marydoll. I’m planning to treat our Covid warrior to one soon. . Maybe not for Christmas - does that seem too much like buying someone a vacuum cleaner? Or, is it? Maybe it is an acceptable gift as it’s something she hasn’t got because of the expense and low priority with a young family.

Hmm.

Urmstongran Tue 08-Dec-20 12:27:17

Perhaps one for them both to share (son-in-law likes baking and cooking too, like a lot of men these days) with a couple of bottles of nice wine to share as well?

Marydoll Tue 08-Dec-20 12:42:45