Gransnet forums

Education

Granny advice needed

(65 Posts)
GagaJo Mon 25-Jan-21 11:51:40

I am considering bringing my daughter and grandson to Switzerland to live with me. Although there is covid here, it isn't anywhere near as bad as it is in the UK. Living here for a couple of years could be a way to improve his and his mum's lives. I don't think they would stay long term, but for a year or two, until hopefully, the whole covid mess dies down a bit. There are lots of complexities to the issue but the one that worries me the most is my grandson.

He is almost 3 and is really starting to talk a lot now, BUT his speaking is quite delayed. As an English teacher I know that late speaking often means literacy issues.

I am concerned that putting him into a non English speaking environment would drastically affect his language acquisition.

Do any of you have any insight or opinions about this? There ARE other issues with them moving, but this is the one that worries me the most.

Daddima Mon 25-Jan-21 11:57:23

Has your daughter asked to come to you?

I’d think that almost 3 is a bit early to be worrying about language acquisition, especially as he is starting to talk a lot, and I’m not sure of a direct link between late speech and literacy.
This could be an ideal time for him to learn a second language.

Namsnanny Mon 25-Jan-21 12:03:33

Children who grow up in bi lingual families usually cope better with language skills.
It's usually a positive for the child.

Oopsadaisy1 Mon 25-Jan-21 12:07:48

It sounds a lovely idea, I’m sure they would enjoy it and having a second language (for both of them?) would be a bonus, the Covid issue is also worrying over here and who knows how long that will take to sort.
I’m sure your Grandson would benefit by having the ones he loves around him all the time.

Humbertbear Mon 25-Jan-21 12:08:32