Gransnet forums

Gransnet cafe

Welcome to the *Gransnet Café. This is a non-judgemental space for you to pop in for a cuppa with some virtual friends, seek out advice for a particular problem, or share an update on your life - important or trivial. Feel free to have your say and chat about your day, but please leave any arguments at the door. If you're struggling to find someone to talk to in real life, or are simply looking for a bit of a chat, this is the place for you.

Decision to move away

(29 Posts)
Nana9 Fri 10-Jan-20 01:18:30

We have 6 beautiful grandchildren where we currently live. Ages 5-12. So many happy memories. In the past year we decided to follow one of our dreams to live near the mountains in another state about 1000 miles away. We are 61 and 62. Active and line hiking and cycling. We also have a child in that City with 3 children. Those are she's infant to 4 years old.
I'm a retired nurse, my husband does not want to retire so we decided we would live where we love to vacation and vacation throughout the year with the family we are leaving behind.
We knew the kids here would not be happy about that, but our oldest is really angry and sad. I would love some tips on how to support her but also help her understand this is something we have always wanted to do.

hondagirl Fri 10-Jan-20 04:07:05

I's a difficult one. Children think they have the right to move where they want but the same doesn't apply to their parents. Ask her what she would do if her dream job/lifestyle opportunity came up somewhere which meant her moving away. She may be mourning the loss of the family home which she maybe sees as the centre of the family. You need to do what suits you now while you can.

rosecarmel Fri 10-Jan-20 04:56:27