Gransnet forums

House and home

Sick with worry

(52 Posts)
Lin1959 Wed 13-Dec-17 23:56:29

I'm hoping some of you will be able to give me some advice, I'm sick with worry at the moment. A week ago our landlord phoned us with some bad news, he has decided to sell the house and we will need to move out in around 2 months or maybe sooner. We have lived here for 8 years. My husband is disabled and in very poor health, I am his carer. Our only income is his disability benefits and my carer's allowance. We have been on the council's waiting list for years and I have been bidding for properties for a few years as we need ground floor accomodation ( we live in a 1 bed house at the moment), but we are getting nowhere with it. Last week I found that the council has suspended our account as we did not reply to the letter they sent us saying we had to renew our application (We did not receive any letter at all from the council). So we now have to start all over again filling in forms etc to get back on the waiting list. I'm worried that we will be out on the streets which will not help my husband at all, my children cannot be expected to help as they all have families of their own and no room, although my daughter has said we can sleep on her settee but I can't do that to her, they have 5 children and live in a tiny 3 bed house, so will be very cramped with us all there. Sorry for the long story, but any ideas would be a godsend, my husband and myself are both 58

BlueBelle Thu 14-Dec-17 05:38:29

What a worrying tine for you Please go to CAB they will help you sort out the mess with the council and explain on your behalf that you didn’t receive the renewing letter, or do you have a disability charity that would be able to help You need intervention from a professional or charitable body that know there way around problems like this, you can’t do it alone.

Willow500 Thu 14-Dec-17 06:23:56