Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

Budget

(118 Posts)
HUNTERF Wed 20-Mar-13 15:14:39

Has anybody got rich as a result of the budget today?.

Frank

bluebell Wed 20-Mar-13 15:27:27

Good prospects for house builders..

gillybob Wed 20-Mar-13 15:36:55

I will (almost) benefit from the budget although not for a year or two yet.

As a small business owner I note corporation tax going down by 1% but still shockingly high for a micro business.

Small businesses like ours will benefit from the abolition of the first £2000 of
job tax Employers NI.

tax allowance will be raised to £10,000 from next year meaning I will not pay any income tax

......and eventually I might benefit from the basic flat rate pension of £144 although by the time I retire we will all be working until we go out in our coffin at 90

FlicketyB Wed 20-Mar-13 17:03:38

Do you remember a time when what the chancellor announced in the budget came into action at 6.00pm the same day or from April 6th? Now it is all, announcements that do not come into being for from one to ten years ahead.

DS & family will just miss out on help with childcare because younger GC will just be 5 by the time it comes into action.

Mostly the measures are so nuanced as to barely visible and taxpayer benefits are targeted mainly with an eye to specific business sectors, beer duty cuts will help pubs, house buying subsidies construction industry, pottery industry exempt from carbon emission taxes etc etc.

The care cap, as I have pointed out elsewhere is all smoke and mirrors, an elderly relation of mine has been in a care home for nearly 5 years but the care element of what she pays has probably still not yet breached the £75,000 barrier. You will still need to sell your house to pay for your care, its just you will be able to pay for it for a few years more before you run out of money and need to rely on social funding.

HUNTERF Wed 20-Mar-13 17:38:52

Hi FlicktyB