Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

Child arrangement order

(15 Posts)
Joyfulnanna Sun 24-Mar-19 19:25:12

Can anyone share their experience of applying to court for a child arrangement order to see their grandchild. I know this is intended to be a last resort but I have tried gently to ask my daughter to restore regular contact with my grandson and she has refused. He is her son but also my grandson who has been a big part of my life since he was born. I've babysat at the drop of a hat, had him stay with me overnight approx every fortnight since he was born six years ago. Now she has cut me off and made it clear she wants nothing to do with me. Please, I would be very grateful to hear of anyone who has taken steps successfully or unsuccessfully to restore contact using child arrangement order process. Thank you.

silverlining48 Sun 24-Mar-19 21:49:32

I have no personal experience of this and am sorry about your situation. However court orders may not be the solution. Do you know the reasons behind her decision? Perhaps mediation might help if your daughter agreed but at present it seems unlikely. A letter to her maybe? Good luck.

Joyfulnanna Sun 24-Mar-19 22:08:27

Hi
I have tried these steps.. Sent her an email, then tried to see her, then tried to get a mediation appt. All she does is reject my offers, and tell lies to mutual friends. I don't know where she lives and am heartbroken not to see my gc but if I take formal steps through the court, I don't want it to drag on and result in additional bad feelings. I don't know why she thinks it's OK to stop me seeing my GC. It tortures me to think how much he must miss me.

Joyfulnanna Sun 24-Mar-19 22:14:49

I would like to hear of anyone out there who has applied for a child arrangement order and how that went. What else do you do when you're estranged? I just need to know how gruelling it is. Is it worth doing or NOT? As I said earlier, please post your exp of this. Thanks x