Gransnet forums

Style & beauty

Are serums worth it?

(45 Posts)
BigBertha1 Sat 12-Aug-23 10:47:41

I went to the hairdresser yesterday and as the boss was away I was honoured with his usual chair in the big window. My goodness what an old hag! I had many more wrinkles than I thought. So now I'm thinking better get on with serum and some botox. I looked at Clarins, my usual make, and goodness me the price. is it worth it I ask myself and now I ask you if you would be so kind as to give me the raw unvarnished truth?

Aveline Sat 12-Aug-23 10:50:32

I have to say as a lifelong Estée Lauder fan that I gave up my 'skincare regime' during Covid lockdown which resulted in - nothing much. No visible difference. I think it's all just a racket. Drink plenty of water and sleep as well as possible.

twinnytwin Sat 12-Aug-23 10:53:47

I've been using Elizabeth Arden serum for several years and I'm sure it's made a big difference. I also have had botox between my eyes occasionally. I search on the internet for special offers for the serum and other creams etc that I use. Around Christmas I stock up with the special offers. I'm worth it!

Skydancer Sat 12-Aug-23 10:55:05

Your boss's mirror is obviously faulty as mine in the lounge is smile. Seriously, we can't rid ourselves of wrinkles but it's definitely worth trying our best not to get more. I've just bought a serum made from beeswax. Feels very nice on the skin. If you go to your local health shop they probably sell natural skin care products. I find these are often more expensive than the traditional ones we've all heard of but they are usually far better quality and obviously natural.

twinnytwin Sat 12-Aug-23 10:55:08

Oh, and I ensure I use Factor 50 face cream every day - even through the winter.

tanith Sat 12-Aug-23 10:56:29

I was given an expensive serum for a present I used the whole thing and noticed no improvement whatsoever. I went back to Olay and Lidls night cream.

maddyone Sat 12-Aug-23 10:58:17