Gransnet forums

Travel

Reserved train seats

(26 Posts)
flakesofjam Sat 27-Feb-16 20:16:37

How brave are people about asking someone to move out of what is clearly your reserved train seat ? I travel to Birmingham fairly often lately and Cross Country always give a seat number on my ticket. What's the etiquette
on this ? I'm such a chicken !

Luckygirl Sat 27-Feb-16 20:23:15

Chuck 'em out!

Grannyknot Sat 27-Feb-16 20:24:42

I travel on trains a lot, and I just say "Excuse me, but I think you're in my seat" accompanied by the sweetest smile I can muster.

Welcome to GN, BTW if you're new. smile

flakesofjam Sat 27-Feb-16 20:29:29

Thanks ladies ! I'm travelling tomorrow & will follow the advice.
Sometimes I just plonk myself down in the first space I see but then of course, my worry is that I am about to be ousted by the person who's seat I'm in ! I am basically a BIG CHICKEN !
I'll let you know how it goes !

PS Yes, I'm new to GN , thanks for the welcome

Alea Sat 27-Feb-16 20:53:26

I do like grannyknot - it should say overhead which seats are reserved and which are available. If there is an alternative which is just as good (sometimes better!) I would magnanimously offer to take that instead!!
However if I Am travelling with DH who gets Mobility Assistance I am implacable as the buggy will be waiting at our bit of the train and DH is not able to shuffle along looking for another seat.
Of course if it is somebody's briefcase which is occupying "my sear" I have been know to smile sweetly and ask if they have reserved that seat for their luggage. If looks could kill!!

Elrel Sat 27-Feb-16 20:57:09