Gransnet forums

Travel

Staying an an Air b & b on your own, would you, have you ?

(68 Posts)
bikergran Thu 29-Jun-23 09:32:18

I have a couple of days booked off work shortly and have been looking to take myself off for an overnight stay(or I may decide to stay at home and get my shower installed)

Anyway I was looking at B & Bs not too far away and the Air B n Bs kept popping up so I googled and had a look at a few.

Must admit some of the prices were reasonable.

But! what put me off was some of the rooms/houses it would say "Stay with Malcom/John/Tom etc. Or it may have been a lady "come and stay with Mary " etc.

I don't think I would even consider staying in some ones house/flat etc when it said " come and stay with John/Tom etc"

I mean do they live in the house, are they there when you stay. I have never done Air B n B before.

I normally would go and stay in a Normal B n B so to speak.

Would it be like staying overnight in a complete strangers house, If there were two of us I would feel fine, but not sure about a single person, or am I reading it all wrong hmm

BigBertha1 Thu 29-Jun-23 09:40:46

Can you have a look at the reviews - that might help. I have only stayed in one once with my sister and daughter in Cambridge. A very nice lady was waiting for us she owned the flat below. I would stay in one again and probably give it a go if I was on my own and could have a chat with the person on the phone first and seen some good reviews.

Juliee Thu 29-Jun-23 09:56:25

I stayed alone in Airbnb in both the UK and in Denmark. Both hosts were single ladies. I agree with you, I wouldn't feel comfortable sharing with 'John', especially sharing the bathroom facilities.

Elusivebutterfly Thu 29-Jun-23 10:08:18

I stayed in an Air B&B with a young couple though I did look for one with my own bathroom. They were nice, so was the house, but I much prefer to stay in an ordinary B&B and find it more relaxing.

Lathyrus Thu 29-Jun-23 10:18:33