Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

What was the first film you ever saw in a cinema?

(129 Posts)
LadyHonoriaDedlock Sat 28-Jan-23 16:08:10

Mine was Summer Holiday, with Cliff Richard, The Shadows, Ron Moody, Una Stubbs and others, at the Plaza in Birkenhead. I find this is the case with many of my age (not the Plaza necessarily) simply because the whole premise of travelling to Greece on a converted London double-decker at a time when cheap package holidays to the Med weren't yet a thing was such a welcome relief after that long, bitter winter of 62/63.

When I did my Masters in TV/Film Studies (yes, deal with it!) a couple of years as a mature student one of the younger ones asked if that was where the song came from. The song Summer Holiday seems to have been a potent icon right down the generations.

halfpint1 Sat 28-Jan-23 16:09:25

South Pacific with my parents

MountainAsh Sat 28-Jan-23 16:12:27

Wild in the Country starring Elvis Presley

tiredoldwoman Sat 28-Jan-23 16:15:34

We used to go to a Saturday morning cinema Minors Club for children , they always showed a bit of Flash Gordon, it was scary and always with a cliff hanger that made you want to go back the next week !

tanith Sat 28-Jan-23 16:16:49

Saturday morning pictures lots of cowboy films and yes Flash Gordon.

HowVeryDareYou Sat 28-Jan-23 16:18:41

Dr Doolittle, starring Rex Harrison. I was probably about 9. A neighbour took me. I thought the Push me-Pull you was fantastic

Casdon Sat 28-Jan-23 16:18:42

I can’t remember it, but it was Bambi. My dad took me whilst my mum was in hospital after giving birth to my sister.

Severnsider Sat 28-Jan-23 16:19:57

My mother told me that I cried all the way through 'Lassie Come Home' can't remember the film except it was about a lovely dog.

BlueBelle Sat 28-Jan-23 16:27:52

I can’t remember if it was my first, probably not, but my first memory is going to South Pacific with my Nan and us taking our hot water bottles with us to have on our knees