Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

Being undermined and sidelined at work

(40 Posts)
Emm14 Fri 11-May-18 04:06:29

Hi ladies
Can any of you offer some advice?
I am an experienced manager, working for large organisation where I have been for many years. Just recently, a young graduate has joined the workplace, in a section connected to my area of work. Our areas are closely related and we are in the same wider team. She has recently started to take it upon herself to do parts of my job, setting herself up as an expert in my field of work. I find out by chance she has set up some event or meeting etc that is highly relevant to my work and is actually my role. Her line manager thinks she is wonderful and won’t do anything to bring this girl back in line and to focus on her own job. I’m not sure how to deal with this. It is stressing and frustrating me. She is such an arrogant confident young woman, I cannot bear her. Any advice?

jenpax Fri 11-May-18 04:30:11

Sounds like this is keeping you awake judging by the time you posted this? so it certainly needs tackling. I suspect the young woman is very ambitious and keen to show senior managers that she is a good catch! You didn’t say if she is a trainee manager or just a new starter but I would suggest a friendly word with HR and a possible wider team meeting with the brief that now we have new starters it would be helpful to everyone to have clarity on who is responsible for what so that tasks are not duplicated! If you put it as an efficiency thing then I am sure the seniors will be on board. I presume that she was hired with a named role and job spec and as a new employee should be concentrating on her own role not encroaching into yours?
Do you dislikes her as a person or is it because of the potential job poaching? If the former just stay pleasant but try to avoid extra interactions and if the latter just try to concentrate on a pleasant and subtle shot across the bow!