Gransnet forums

AIBU

To think granddaughter is too old for a dummy

(168 Posts)
Tonks Fri 02-Aug-19 11:03:02

My DGD still has a dummy at almost 5. I think that she is too old for it and I'm trying to convince DD to get rid of it, but she's anxious that it'll ruin her sleep, and kick off an almighty tantrum. My DCs never had dummies so I've no experience of it myself, has anyone done this for their DCs or DGC? Surely 5 is too old to still have a dummy?

grannysue05 Fri 02-Aug-19 11:08:11

I think that a five year old does look a little too old to be walking around with a dummy.
If its just for bedtime that may be different, but is the little girl controlling what Mummy wants her to do?
Also the problem of teeth becoming prominent with overuse of dummies or suck-a-thumbs!
Perhaps a new relaxing bedtime routine might help.

henetha Fri 02-Aug-19 11:08:24

I think it is rather old and I can understand your concern.
But children are all different. Maybe best to leave it to her parents to decide?

Blinko Fri 02-Aug-19 11:12:40

Dear Tonks, I don't think it's for us grans to have any opinion on dummies, use thereof, or any other thing that our offspring decide for their children. Not our concern, unless there's a danger to health and well being.

Grans have found themselves in hot water with their ACs for less...

dragonfly46 Fri 02-Aug-19 11:15:37

I don't see the problem just using a dummy at this age at night. My DD had a dummy but spat it out quite early but my DS sucked his thumb for a long time. Which is better I wonder?

Gonegirl Fri 02-Aug-19 11:17:20

No! A dummy at almost five is so wrong. Sorry. Take it away. She'll cope.

Tonks Fri 02-Aug-19 11:26:46