Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Neighbour Problems

(53 Posts)
Seb2015 Tue 07-Jun-16 11:06:43

I've never done this before but reading the forums has made me realise what a wise bunch you are, so here goes.

About two years ago I got new neighbours in the house that is attached to mine. They are a young couple with two children and are pleasant. The bloke's FiL, however is a nightmare. My daughter once visited me and parked in front of their house (not blocking the drive)and the FiL went ape, screaming abuse in the road. (He doesn't even live there and his Son in law and DD daughter do nothing to stop him). Horrific - and intimidating. He has continued to be abusive every time I see him.

Anyway, moving on - my Son in law has been working on my garden and has put some garden netting around some vegetables so my two dogs stay off it - and he has tacked it to the dividing fence, which belongs to my neighbours. The FiL immediately jumped on this and demanded it was taken down - again shouting, abusive etc which got my SiL's back up and he refused. Consequently, they have cut my side of the hedge in the front garden down so I have no privacy and say it is because of the nail in the fence. What would you so?

Seb2015 Tue 07-Jun-16 11:07:26

What would you do? is what that last sentence was supposed to say!

sunseeker Tue 07-Jun-16 11:25:38

Can you speak to your neighbours when the FiL isn't there? Tell them you don't wish to fall out and that you would not want this unfortunate misunderstanding to escalate. Is he like this with other people in the street? Of course, he may be suffering the beginnings of dementia which can cause outbursts.

Atqui Tue 07-Jun-16 11:28:33

Poor you. How stressful. I wonder if your Son in law could have a word with the husband on a day when father in law isn't there, and tell him how much anguish the behaviour is causing.

ninathenana Tue 07-Jun-16 11:29:48

The FiL is obviously an overbearing oaf.