Gransnet forums

Ask a gran

Can I keep it alive?

(49 Posts)
LyndaW Thu 25-Jan-18 12:09:38

Hello, my poinsettia has lasted since the beginning of December. It's looking a little lacklustre now though but I wondered if anyone has anyone managed to keep one going year round?

Oopsadaisy52 Thu 25-Jan-18 12:11:36

I have, but I couldn’t get the bracts to go red again, although I tried putting it into the dark the following Autumn.

Nonnie Thu 25-Jan-18 12:40:50

They discussed this on Gardner's Question Time. It needs to be kept at a constant temperature of 18 degrees and have 12 hours of darkness each day. Not worth the bother!

Eloethan Thu 25-Jan-18 13:35:40

Our friends gave us a poinsettia when they came for a meal just before Christmas. It was dead within 2 days. We don't have much luck with them!

Greenfinch Thu 25-Jan-18 14:42:54

I am no expert but I have had a certain success with these.The first year I followed advice and kept it in a dark store cupboard where it died within weeks.The second year I made no attempt to keep it but enjoyed it on my kitchen window ledge where it survived for eighteen months.New leaves grew which although were much smaller did in fact turn red. This year I wasn't given one but my daughter bought me one reduced to 8p after Christmas at Morrison's.It is still remarkably surviving in the lounge.My daughter has had similar success and keeps hers on her dining room window ledge.I have to say that none of these rooms get much sun but they are very light and so I would question the reasoning for putting them in the dark.

hildajenniJ Thu 25-Jan-18 14:46:03

We've never been able to keep one alive either. They always drop their leaves after a couple of weeks.

loopyloo Thu 25-Jan-18 15:01:17

Can I take cuttings from a poinsettias?

LyndaW Thu 25-Jan-18 16:39:29

Oh, they need to be kept in the dark... Thanks for the tips. I'll report back if I have any success. smile

midgey Thu 25-Jan-18 16:44:22