Gransnet forums

Coronavirus

Daughter needs help with young children

(77 Posts)
Tedd1 Fri 27-Mar-20 15:19:22

My daughter has just messaged me to say she's ill with a cold, headache and exhaustion. Her husband ( works in the NHS ) due to go back to work tomorrow. She has two children age 3 and 2 months. Am I allowed to go and help her.
I am 66 with no underlying health conditions ( neither does my husband) ?
Would appreciate your views

Scentia Fri 27-Mar-20 15:22:28

If it was me, I would go help her, but I would stay there for the 14 days as part of the family/household. I wouldn’t take anything back and forward if it was me. Disclaimer: I am not a health professional.

EllanVannin Fri 27-Mar-20 15:30:06

No. Much as I sympathise with your situation. You don't have to have underlying health problems to catch this virus.

Iam64 Fri 27-Mar-20 15:31:37

If her symptons could be the virus, her husband should be staying home for 14 days anyway

As you aren't in a high risk group you could go but you'd have to stay there 14 days. good luck

Wibby Fri 27-Mar-20 15:39:29

As much as you want to help I would say its too risky, you dont need to have underlying health conditions to catch the virus!

Hithere Fri 27-Mar-20 15:40:23

I wouldn't risk it

Wibby Fri 27-Mar-20 15:40:47

www.gransnet.com/grandparenting/grandparents-and-grandchildren-during-coronavirus

rafichagran Fri 27-Mar-20 15:43:10

I think her husband should stay at home. She may or may not have the virus.

Oopsadaisy3 Fri 27-Mar-20 15:43:26

What if the you are carrying the virus, but not showing any symptoms yet?
Your DD might even have it!

So many Grans on here asking if they should go and help out,

NO.

What is so difficult about the information that is on every page, every TV Channel every Newspaper ?

Feelingmyage55 Fri 27-Mar-20 15:51:21