Gransnet forums

Education

Am I mad? PG study in my 50s

(99 Posts)
NannaBanana Wed 21-Mar-18 11:44:32

I’m attending a postgraduate open evening today. I’ve always enjoyed using my brain, and there is a course that really appeals to me. If it went well, there are strong indications it could be extended to a PhD. But I am old (late 50s). Am I deluding myself? Has anyone else here started a university course in their 50s or 60s? I’d love to hear your experience.

stella1949 Wed 21-Mar-18 11:46:18

Certainly you should do it . You often see quite elderly people in their mortar boards and gowns getting their degree late in life. In your 50's you're still a spring chicken !

goldengirl Wed 21-Mar-18 12:04:36

I did a Masters in my 50s and thoroughly enjoyed the challenge. Go for it!!!

whitewave Wed 21-Mar-18 12:16:52

Yes I’ve done a second degree and a masters in my mature years - thoroughly enjoyed them both. Not doing anything at the moment though

NannaBanana Wed 21-Mar-18 12:26:04

Oh, thank you for the replies. Is there anything you wish you knew before you started? Anything that I should be sure to ask tonight?

Jane10 Wed 21-Mar-18 13:08:51

I did a doctorate in my 50s. Go for it. There was a slogan written on the wall of the cafeteria at the uni which read 'education is about making the mind an interesting place to live'.
It certainly is.

GrandmaMoira Wed 21-Mar-18 13:16:45

I'm in my 60s and doing an Open University degree which I started when I retired.

eazybee Wed 21-Mar-18 13:17:14

Do it. I am doing a first degree, much older than you, and loving it .
Ask about the level of lectures and tutor support, as the universities seem to be cutting back drastically in that department and aiming at far more online contact.

NannaBanana Wed 21-Mar-18 13:38:01

Thank you eazybee, I will bear that in mind.

Eglantine21 Wed 21-Mar-18 14:13:39