Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Waiting for the call

(32 Posts)
GrandmaRoo Sat 31-Dec-11 14:49:21

Hello everyone, I'm new to this, trying to stay calm and unstressy so I can be in a fit state to help DD when the call finally comes through. Her waters broke - well, started leaking - yesterday afternoon. Since then, 2 visits from the midwife but absolutely nothing else. Today she's done several laps of the local park, been out for lunch, and seen her midwife again. She's a 2-hour drive away, but through central London - goodness knows what that will be like if we leave it til later, with all the New Year celebrations. Her midwife is adamant that we don't need to do anything yet, and so of course I'm calmly agreeing with DD and trying to stay busy.

Just had text to say latest midwife keen to get things moving within 48 hours, so DD is off for reflexology later this afternoon, plus lots of exercises to do. (Reflexology?)

So, when the call comes and we make it through the revellers, any advice for me in the delivery room (with lovely SIL too)? She has a water birth booked, if all is straightforward. I feel very anxious, much more than I ever did with my own four babies, and want so much to support her.

Thanks, everyone.

Carol Sat 31-Dec-11 14:57:39

Advice? Heck no - you sound just like I would in that position - just pace the floor if you want to, have a weep, get hysterical, have a glass of wine, get the baby photos out from when she was born, do all those daft things we do to pass the time, make sure there's petrol in the car and look forward to the most amazing time of your life. Try to enjoy it and keep telling her how well she is doing. Lucky you - what a wonderful experience you're going to have thanks

Annika Sat 31-Dec-11 15:14:47

GrandmaRoo there is not much more that I could add to what Carol has already said.