Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Feeling pushed out

(65 Posts)
horleyflyer Tue 25-Jul-17 07:00:44

My daughter had her first baby two weeks ago today and I was privileged enough to be at the birth and cut the cord.
My problem.... and I'm new to all this grandparenting lark....is that the Paternal GM has been and is very excited about the new addition and is wanting to be around the baby all the time.
I have largely taken the approach that I will be there when needed and leave them to new parenthood when not needed
However my side of the family are already feeling pushed out. Paternal GM is at my daughters whenever she can and whisks away washing and delivers takeaway etc which are all things I can't do where I don't drive.
Last night the baby had colic. My daughter and I were texting back and forth and I gave the best advice I knew and offered to drop everything and go round. Next thing she texted to say Paternal GM has taken them to hospital.
The baby was checked and is fine and just colic but I can't help feeling upset. I offered to go round and haven't seen the baby since Friday whilst Paternal has seen her every day and took her out in the pram on Sunday.
Maybe I'm silly for feeling like this but I am upset and can't help the way I feel.
Has anyone any levelling thoughts?

vampirequeen Tue 25-Jul-17 08:11:45

I know how you feel. I'm not a pushy granny but paternal is. She virtually lived at DDs house in the early days and it drove DD insane. Even now she's there far more often than I am. I used to feel like you do but then I realised that we're just cut from different cloth. She's done it with every grandchild and it's just how it's done in her family. My family are more distant. I don't mean distant ....I can't think of the right word. We tend to give each other space to live their own lives whilst always being there when needed. We're not a 'drop in' visiting family whilst her family is.