Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Personality change

(55 Posts)
Liberte Sun 31-Jul-22 09:15:34

Has anyone else come acros, what I think could be, a post-parturition mood disorder? My daughter in law gave birth 20 months ago to a healthy boy and seemed to cope well. We always got on we'll and I did all I could to help her and my son with the baby. Then last year...she just changed towards me. Now I can do nothing right. She will verbally attack me and accuse me of all kinds of rubbish for no reason! This has caused me such pain because it has affected my contacted with the baby I adore and what I thought was a good relationship with them. My son is not approachable on this and would see this as an attack on her but it isn't! I just want my loving DinL back. I fear something is wrong emotionally/mentally. It is the only thing I can think of!
Has anyone had similar experiences?

Shelflife Sun 31-Jul-22 09:50:48

Post natal depression springs to mind. I have no experience of this so obviously may be completely wrong! Although it does seem strange that in the past you have had a sound relationship. Or perhaps not as sound as you thought? Is it possible your desire to help has been a bit overwhelming for your DIL and she needs you to back off a little, even though you had nothing but good intentions. Your son is naturally protecting and standing up for his wife. He too may be under great stress especially if there is a post natal problem. How about an email, or old fashioned letter may be more to personal. Tell him the basic facts , ie how concerned you are for your DIL. I wouldn't broach the subject of possible PND . or the fact that you miss your GS. Simply make it clear how worried you are This might be a gentle approach that may encourage your son to communicate. Whatever happens please don't fall into the trap of making it about you and how much you miss your GS and former relationship with your DIL. It is an easy thing to do when you feel so upset! As for not havin