Gransnet forums

Health

How to quit smoking?

(110 Posts)
Lisa445 Sun 09-Jun-19 21:49:12

I've been smoking for the last 35 years and everything was just fine. But my grandchildren don't like the smell and keep asking me to quit. My husband quit a lot of years ago so I don't even know who might help me.
First, I started surfing on the Internet and everything I found - quit guides by HelpGuide, VapingDaily, etc. I'm just wondering, is it real to quit after 35 years? Of course, it's easier when you're young... Did you have the same problem? I appreciate any advice! Thank you!

Sara65 Sun 09-Jun-19 21:53:25

My husband and I both gave up about 38 years ago, when someone said our little boy smelt of cigarettes

No help then, just cold turkey, and a ridiculous amount of chocolate!

aggie Sun 09-Jun-19 21:59:49

Does your GP practice run a no smoking clinic ?

phoenix Sun 09-Jun-19 22:09:43

I did it about 3 years ago, but do vape blush

Really notice the smell on people who smoke!

gransal Sun 09-Jun-19 22:15:38

It is not easy but I found Vaping helped wean me off cigs after 39 years. Smoke free for 3 years and the money saved pays for our extra holiday each year. DH stopped at same time to give me moral support. After 6 months I weaned off the vape and not looked back since. It is not easy but so worth it.

mosaicwarts Sun 09-Jun-19 22:17:34

I stopped after 40 years by using a vape. I had a cervical cancer scare, and the surgeon said there was nicotine in my biopsy, and I should stop smoking sad

I used to smoke as many Marlboro as I could, but decided I had to stop at the age of 57, five years ago.

I only use classic tobacco liquid, and my ecig doesn't give off steam train style smoke like the ones young people have. I do vape all the time though and I'm still on the high strength, but it's a lot better than smoking.

Please give it a try and save your health. My poor friend with lung cancer is now housebound, she can't even go a few steps.