Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

Our House - Drama alert! Adapted from the Louise Candlish book ITV drama starting tomorrow 7th March

(122 Posts)
TerriBull Sun 06-Mar-22 12:35:19

Fans of Louise Candlish, I'm one, may be interested to know that her novel "Our House" has been dramatised and starts tomorrow at 9pm. Starring Martin Compston and Tuppence Middleton.

I hope the programme will be as good as the book. For anyone who hasn't read it, the premise, inspired by a real case, is when a couple find that their house, they have bought, lived in and lovingly restored, has been sold behind their backs in a sophisticated scam.

Oopsadaisy1 Sun 06-Mar-22 12:51:04

Thank you I’ve booked it to record.

Notagranny44 Sun 06-Mar-22 14:48:44

Where is it on please?

Callistemon21 Sun 06-Mar-22 14:51:56

It's on at 9 pm

Sparklefizz Sun 06-Mar-22 16:54:46

The book was good.
It's on ITV at 9pm on Monday.

sodapop Sun 06-Mar-22 16:58:21

I like most of the Louise Candlish books but not read this one so will be interested to see the series.

JaneJudge Sun 06-Mar-22 16:58:45

I think I'll get confused as all the characters look alike

Tina49 Sun 06-Mar-22 16:59:34

I read the book, but I can’t remember the ending now! I shall watch it (I like Martin Compston anyway) and I expect it will come back to me. Be good to have something to watch.

NotTooOld Sun 06-Mar-22 17:01:36

Yes, it's an excellent book. I really enjoyed it. I'll be watching tomorrow - thanks for the heads up.

TerriBull Sun 06-Mar-22 17:21:25

Tina49

I read the book, but I can’t remember the ending now! I shall watch it (I like Martin Compston anyway) and I expect it will come back to me. Be good to have something to watch.

Me too! Have forgotten most of the plot apart from the opening sequence when the wife arrives home to find a removal van outside the house with new people moving in.

Maggiemaybe Sun 06-Mar-22 17:53:37

Same here! Because I've a memory like a sieve, I keep a list on my phone of books I've read and the mark out of 10 I think they deserve. Sometimes I think I should upgrade it by adding a little summary as well - I can look at a title and not remember a blooming thing about it.

Sweetpeasue Sun 06-Mar-22 19:18:26

Loved this book. Looking forward to the TV drama.

travelsafar Sun 06-Mar-22 22:38:50

Brilliant book so will defo try this drama.

Pittcity Mon 07-Mar-22 08:19:41

Set to record.

Sarnia Mon 07-Mar-22 08:27:24

If it is as good as the book we are in for a treat. I read this as our book club choice and couldn't put it down. It is based on fact too.

glammanana Mon 07-Mar-22 08:42:14

This looks really good I hope the drama is as good as the adverts for it,I remember the real life story just can't remember the ending at all.

PinkCosmos Mon 07-Mar-22 08:51:45

I read this a while ago. I love Louise Candlish. Hope the tv series is as good as the book, although I can't remember the ending now.

I started watch 'Tell me your secrets' on the Drama channel last night. You can download all ten (45 minute) episodes on UK Play I think. I binge watched the first five episodes last night and will watch the rest tonight.

Here is some blurb about it, 'Karen Miller is in witness protection with a new identity as Emma Hall; when she befriends a girl who then dies, it triggers dark memories of her dead lover's crimes'. It's American.

They seem to have some good stuff on the drama channel but it is a bit hidden away compared to Netflix and Amazon etc.

NotTooOld Tue 08-Mar-22 16:09:50

Good first episode, I thought. Looking forward to tonight's. I read the book a long time ago but I don't remember what happens.

Tina49 Tue 08-Mar-22 16:55:11

Maggiemaybe

Same here! Because I've a memory like a sieve, I keep a list on my phone of books I've read and the mark out of 10 I think they deserve. Sometimes I think I should upgrade it by adding a little summary as well - I can look at a title and not remember a blooming thing about it.

I’m glad it’s not just me! I can get really engrossed in a book / read it avidly and be amazed at a clever twist at the end - then - poof! - a few weeks later, I’ve forgotten what happened!!

Oldbat1 Tue 08-Mar-22 20:46:34

The book is on an Amazon special 99pence for kindle version.

Doodledog Tue 08-Mar-22 20:50:17

Thanks, Oldbat1. I've just ordered it.

Tina49 Tue 08-Mar-22 21:25:54

Just watched the first episode and the story line’s come back to me now! I thought the two main characters were well played. I shall look forward to this!

Callistemon21 Tue 08-Mar-22 22:03:11

I wondered if that might happen!

🤐

Millie22 Tue 08-Mar-22 22:03:44

I'm trying to follow this but how does that girl know about the accident. I haven't read the book so I don't know what happens. Perhaps it will become clearer in the next episode.

storynanny Tue 08-Mar-22 22:17:20

At the end of tonight’s episode when lift man said we want your house- that’s different from the book in that he was called something else! I didn’t guess he was involved until near the end of the book