Gransnet forums

Estrangement

Child's wishes

(110 Posts)
Heartwrenched Sun 05-Sep-21 16:52:32

If grandchildren & grandchildren are estranged because of children's parents, do the children aged 7, 9 and 11, have a right to be asked if they want to see their grandparents and is it allowed?

Heartwrenched Sun 05-Sep-21 16:54:28

I'm sorry I meant if grandchildren and grandparents are
estranged

GagaJo Sun 05-Sep-21 16:58:38

I don't think so (but I'm not an expert). I think the parents wishes are paramount unfortunately.

Heartwrenched Sun 05-Sep-21 17:02:31

Does anyone know that if we are estranged from our grandchildren, and the parents of the children aren't giving them any birthday gifts etc sent to them, would we be allowed to write to the children, send gifts, etc to the other set of grandparents who see the children,so that they can pass them on?

Minty Sun 05-Sep-21 17:11:14

It is very difficult to answer this as every situation is different. Did you have a good relationship with the other grandparents? It is possible that the other grandparents wont want to get involved for fear of the same thing happening to them. I am so sorry you are going through this 'living bereavement.'

silverlining48 Sun 05-Sep-21 17:12:31

In a court situation where custody is being decided then children would be consulted about where and with whom they would like to live but in these circumstances it’s highly unlikely,
As for the other grandparents passing gifts on, it’s unlikely unless parents agree, as they are responsible fir their children until 16, unless it’s proved the children are unsafe with them.
Mediation can be helpful but both sides have to agree to this.
I am sorry Heartwrenched.

Smileless2012 Sun 05-Sep-21 17:35:10

I know how hard this is for you Heartwrenched as we're in the same situation. We were sending cards and Christmas and for birthdays but have stopped now as I doubt they were being passed on.